14 Day Rule
A recent change in Florida law requires automobile accident victims to act fast or risk losing any chance to claim personal injury protection (PIP) awards from your insurance company. As of Jan. 1, 2013, auto accident victims have 14 days to seek medical treatment or otherwise forfeit any coverage for PIP coverage.
Because of the requirements the new law puts on medical professionals, many doctors won’t treat auto accident victims. Doctors that treat accident victims must deal with billing the insurance company, saving and producing medical records and if necessary, testifying in court, which is a hassle that many don’t want to put up with. Because of this, family doctors often refer victims to chiropractors. However, under recent changes in the law, chiropractors aren’t allowed to diagnosis emergency medical conditions.
Importance of Uninsured Motorist Coverage
In Florida, drivers are only required to carry $10,000 in personal injury protection coverage, which pays their expenses for injury, and $10,000 in property damage coverage, which pays for any damage caused by an at-fault accident. Drivers aren’t required to be insured for any medical costs and lost wages that they inflict on others through their careless or negligent driving. Drivers with only the minimum insurance requirements will only have the $10,000 in personal injury protection coverage to rely on if they are injured by another driver.
Many drivers believe they have larger amounts of coverage because they carry “bodily injury liability” coverage, or BI. But this insurance only covers you for damages that are your fault. Drivers are often surprised to learn that despite carrying high coverage for bodily injury liability, their BI policy won’t pay a penny for the injury they suffer as a result of an accident caused by another driver.